Rock Reviews

Rock Review Zakk Wylde

Due to popular demand here is the Zakk Wylde Rock Review that aired on Rebel Rock Radio on 19 Oct 2021.  It was a good look at his work with Ozzy, Black Label Society and his solo stuff.  As always 60 min is a stretch but I think we did the big man justice.  

Avenged Sevenfold
Here’s a fairly recent Rock Review, it aired on Rebel Rock radio on 30 Nov 2021 and it went down really well.  AX7 is one of those bands that you need to spend a bit of time on, once you get it you really get it.  This RR focused on giving you a broad introduction to this most excellent band.
acdc-brain-johnson

Here is the Rock Review on ACDC that aired on Rebel Rock Radio on 7 and 9 Sept 2021.

Jack Hammer

This Rock review is on SA legend Piet Botha and his band Jack Hammer.  Piet passed away on 2 June 2019 and he is loved and remembered by a legion of rock fans in SA and around the world.  Some of the happiest times of my life were spent watching Jack Hammer and experiencing the magic of Piet Botha and his incredible songs.

This Rock Review went out on 17 and 19 August 2021 and due to popular demand, it is included here so that those who missed it can kick back for an hour and experience the music of Piet Botha and Jack Hammer.

ZZ Top

I was sad to hear of the passing of Dusty Hill on 29 July 2021.  I was expecting a new album so the news that he had died in his sleep at the age of 72 came as a surprise.  Here is the Rock Review I did of ZZ Top about 6 months back.  Check it out and pay extra special attention to the bass guitar.  Adios and RIP Dusty, you are already missed.

David Bowie

This Rock Review went out live on Rebel Rock Radio on 27 and 29 July 2021.   As always in 60 minutes it barely scratched the surface, it does, however, scratch a very rich vein.  Bowie was amazing, he was unique and I am grateful to have had his music during very important phases of my life.  

ozzy_paris.jpg

Here is another Rock Review, this one went out on 6 July 2021 and gives a quick overview of Ozzy and his awesome guitarists.  As always with the Rock Review it is impossible to do justice to an artist like this in an hour but its a good snap-shot. 

Metallica

Another quick little Festive Season Bonus.  Here is the Metallica Rock Review that I did for Rebel Rock Radio at the tail end of 2020

iron-maiden

Here’s a little bonus for frequent listeners of The Story of Rock and Roll.  The Rock Review is a feature I present monthly on day time radio for Rebel Rock Radio.  The RRR presenters take turns to pick an artist and then present a quick one-hour overview of that artist every week which means my turn comes round once a month.

My first one was The Stranglers, then Van Halen (before Eddie passed away), Queensrÿche, and Iron Maiden.  Here’s the Iron Maiden Rock Review and if it gets some interest I’ll put up the others.

It’s a lot of fun, see what you think.  Feedback welcome, find me on The Story of Rock and Roll Facebook page.