The Story of Rock and Roll Radio Show: S6E3

Click to rate this podcast!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]
The Story of Rock and Roll Radio ShowPodcast
The Story of Rock and Roll Radio ShowPodcast
The Story of Rock and Roll Radio ShowPodcast

Episode 3 of Season 6 launched promptly at 19h00 on Rebel Rock Radio and then crashed back to earth like a failed rocket launch.  It was restarted and got back on the air at 19h17.  The joys of internet radio.  This was the first episode going out on fibre.  While podcast people have not been affected, listeners to the live show have had a really rough ride of late thanks to load shedding in South Africa.  Since late 2022 it has either been my cell towers collapsing (Telcom) or if mine are up then the guys trying to listen have no power.  It is, as they say, a shit show.

When we did get going we started with Aerosmith and ‘Young Lust’ of the hugely successful Pump album. From there we had Ratt and then Sixx A.M., with ‘Lies of the Beautiful People’.  There were two tracks with a Metallica theme running through, W.A.S.P. with ‘For Whom the Bell Tolls’ and then Volbeat with an excellent cover of ‘Don’t Tread on Me’ to keep the show Rambling On.  Speaking of which I used Led Zepellin with ‘Ramble On’ and Judas Priest with ‘Better By You Better Than Me’ to talk a bit about the development of modern Metal.

On the local scene, we checked out more of Infanteria’s phenomenal album Patriarch and a track called ‘Repent Through the Orders You Seek’.  It was a pleasure to play the brand new track by South African Metal heavyweights Deadline.  The track is called ‘Cult of Prometheus, it has just been released, Dave Devo Oosthuizen who works tirelessly to promote SA music, sent it to me and it is a pleasure to give it some airtime.  We had classics from ACDC, and Motörhead, plenty from the ladies, Laura Cox, Samantha Fish, Doll Skin, and L7.  This weeks Songs that may be about South Africa included ‘The Ditch’ (Dave Hause), ‘Don’t Lie To Me’ (Dokken), High ‘n’ Dry (Def Leppard), ‘Sucker Born’ (Samantha Fish) and ‘Take Back Your Life’ from Disturbed.

This week The Immortals, i.e. classic metal tracks that are over 7 min long and will last forever, came courtesy of Deep Purple with ‘Child in Time’.  Following on was hard and I delegated the job to Tool and their amazing track about two additional chromones ‘Forty-Six and 2′.  A highlight of the show was a track sent to me called ‘Goodbye To The World and The Whole Damn Thing’ by a band called deadfilmstar.  I really enjoyed it, it has such an evil feel to it.  It is Mansonesque but very fresh, check it out.

Wrapping up we had UK Punky stuff from The Police, the Jam, and then for good measure, we had Böhse Onkels and a track called ‘Saufen ist wie Weinen’ which means drinking is like crying.  It is the best Böhse Onkels track I have ever heard, love that little bluesy intro.  The new Bush album The Art of Survival gave us a track called ‘More Than Machines’.  Metalheads can go to the last 10 minutes of the show for Obituary and In Flames, Nu Metal fans can go twenty minutes before the end and catch Birthday Boy Kid Rock and a track off Rock ‘n’ Roll Jesus and Limp Bizkit with the amazing Wes Borland on guitar doing a track called Rollin’, thanks as always for tuning in guys, much appreciated, Adios Amoeba’s catch you next week.

Artists featured:  Aerosmith, Ratt, Sixx AM, Thin Lizzy, Y&T, The Quireboys, Def Leppard, W.A.S.P., Volbeat, Sword, Infanteria, Judas Priest, Led Zeppelin, Drowning Pool, Disturbed, Laura Cox, Samantha Fish, Doll Skin, L7, Dave Hause, Slash (feat Chris Cornell), Motörhead, ACDC, Dokken, Manowar, Deadfilmstar, Deadline, Deep Purple, Tool, The Dead Daisies, The Police, The Jam, Böhse Onkels, Bush, Kid Rock, Limp Bizkit, Obituary, In Flames, David Lee Roth

The Story of Rock and Roll. TSORR – Your one-stop shop for Rock