The Story of Rock and Roll Radio Show: S6E10

Click to rate this podcast!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]
The Story of Rock and Roll Radio ShowPodcast
The Story of Rock and Roll Radio ShowPodcast
The Story of Rock and Roll Radio ShowPodcast

S6E10 kicked off live on Rebel Rock Radio at 19h00 on 9 Mar 2023.  It was great to be back in Benoni after last week’s sojourn to Clarens and we celebrated hard.  First up was Motörhead and a track off Inferno called ‘In the Year of the Wolf’.  From there some classic Led Zep and a track by Michael Monroe co-written by Lemmy called ‘The Fine Art of Debauchery’.  We had some Def Leppard and some Black Sabbath to keep the big names in the mix and then turned left into the world of Stoner Rock and Queens of the Stone Age.   From there we hit some USA Punk with Ramones and The Distillers.

This week’s elevator speech came from a quick chat I had with Chris Kennedy of Punkfontein and he told us about the new track being released called ‘The Leviathan’, we played it, and it’s fully cool.  We stayed in that zone with Blink 182 and The Killers with a track off Sam’s Town called This River Is Wild.  I vote The Killers the band most in need of a slap round the head.  Such a good album and then nothing.  From there it was back to ‘80s metal courtesy of W.A.S.P. and a track called ‘The Rock Rolls On’.

This week’s Immortals was a track by James Reyne featuring a wailing emotionally charged solo by Jef Scott and especially dedicated to my mate Fanie Marais who loved this album and would have been 72 this week. RIP buddy.  From there we heard a brand new track from Bily Squier who, as far as I know, hasn’t released anything for 25 years.  The track is called ‘Harder On A Woman’ and it sounds just like you would expect, well done Billy, welcome back.  The Ultimate Challenge this week looked at 4 albums from 2005.  Avenged Sevenfold – City of Evil, Foo Fighter – In Your Honor, System of a Down – Violent Pornography, and Audioslave – Out of Exile.  Once again there was no clear winner and everyone changed their minds at least once.  The brand new track by Deadline called ‘My Sweet apocalypse’ is really good, over 7 min long it is one of the best tracks these SA metal giants have released.  We ended with Iron Maiden and The Halo Effect with tracks called ‘Tears of a Clown’ and ‘Gateways’.

Artists Featured: Motörhead, Led Zeppelin, Michael Monroe, Hell Fire, Def Leppard, Black Sabbath, Queens of the Stone Age, The Distillers, Ramones, Metallica, Crossbone Skully, David Bowie, The Rolling Stones, Ugly Kid Joe, Airbourne, Punkfontein (Feat Meel Vignetting), Blink 182, The Killers, W.A.S.P., Sebastian Bach, Sophie Lloyd (Feat Matthew K. Heafy), James Reyne, System of a Down, Foo Fighters, Audioslave, Avenged Sevenfold, Dave Hause, Bush, Anti-Nowhere League, Iggy Pop, Deadline, Iron Maiden, The Halo Effect.

The Story of Rock and Roll. TSORR – Your one-stop shop for Rock